Over the past few years, I've gained an interest in nutrition and its link to spirituality. It wasn't until I introduced healthier foods into my diet that I realized how much junk food and processed foods can impact your well being and your body's chakra system.

If you've never heard of them, the seven chakras are the centers of the body in which energy flows. When these energy centers become blocked, both emotional and physical instability and pain may occur.

When you think about your chakra system, you're probably focused on balancing your energy levels rather than the types of foods you consume. Healing your chakras can be done through Reiki treatments, but not everyone is given the opportunity to learn this process. Because of this, I want to show that certain diets and foods can help heal these energy centers

Here is a list of the seven chakras and the dietary guidelines to balance them:

1. The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine and is the foundation for all the other energy centers. It controls and stabilizes the immune system, legs, feet, and bones. The root's purpose is to ground us and make us feel confident and secure.

When the Root Chakra is imbalanced, you will feel emotional symptoms like insecurity, loneliness, and fear. Some physical symptoms that may arise are lower back pain and problems with your legs and feet.

To balance the Root, eat foods that are red in colour and grown from the ground like red peppers, soups, potatoes, and eggs.

2. The Sacral Chakra

A photo posted by Piers Dawson (@piersdawson) on

The Sacral Chakra is located in the abdomen, two inches below the navel. It controls your kidneys, bladder, reproductive organs and glands. The Sacral's purpose is to help process and express our emotions, joys and pleasures. 

When the Sacral Chakra is imbalanced, you will feel either overly emotional, or emotionally dull, and you will be unable to express yourself properly. Emotional symptoms include lack of energy, addictions, and fear to express emotion. Some physical symptoms include bladder issues, joint stiffness, and kidney dysfunctions. 

To balance the Sacral, eat foods that are either orange in colour or rich sources of healthy fats like: oranges, honey, almonds, carrots, and fish.   

3. The Solar Plexus

The Solar Plexus is located directly below the sternum and above the stomach. It controls your stomach, pancreas, and mid-back. The Solar Plexus' is home to our gut instinct so its purpose is to enhance our feelings towards self-esteem and compassion. 

When the Solar Plexus is imbalanced, you will feel overly critical of yourself and others. Emotional symptoms include: anger, low self-worth, feeling powerless. Some physical symptoms include: fatigue, diabetes, gluten allergies, and stomach pain. 

To balance the Solar Plexus, eat foods that are yellow in colour and avoid foods that are absorbed too quickly, like sugar and processed foods. Eat foods like: bananas, pineapples, and corn. 

4. The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is located at the middle of the chest and it controls the heart, thymus gland, and lungs. Its purpose is to seek and expand love and compassion for oneself and others.

When the Heart Chakra is imbalanced, you may feel drained, and stuck in behavioural patterns. Emotional symptoms include: jealously, feelings of isolation, inability to pursue passions. Some physical symptoms include: heart disease, upper back aches, and asthma. 

To balance the Heart, eat foods that are leafy and green like: kale, spinach, and broccoli.

5. The Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra is located within the throat and governs the lymphatic system and thyroid glands. It is home to our center of communication and when it is balanced, it helps us express our truths and feelings. 

When the Throat Chakra is imbalanced, there are general problems in communicating with others, and creative blockages. Emotional symptoms include: lack of self-expression and issues expressing yourself. Some physical symptoms include: throat infections, and teeth and gum issues. 

To balance the Throat, eat foods that are blue in colour and any fruits that grow on trees like: blueberries, plums, and apples.

6. The Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra is located at the center of the forehead, in-between both eyes. It controls the eyes, ears, and pituitary gland, and deals with intuitive abilities, dreams and sleep patterns. 

When the Third Eye Chakra is imbalanced, you may feel unfocused and lack any sense of intuition. Emotional symptoms include: constant confusion, and moodiness. Some physical symptoms include: headaches, sinus problems, and loss of hearing. 

To balance the Third Eye, eat foods that are purple in colour and that will calm your energy like: purple kale, eggplant, and grapes.

7. The Crown Chakra

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head. It controls the central nervous system, brain, and the pineal gland. Its purpose is to deal with inner wisdom and develop higher states of consciousness.

When the Crown Chakra is imbalanced, there is a disconnect between the mind and body. Emotional symptoms include: excess of thoughts, and the inability to learn. Physical symptoms include: dizziness, migraines, insomnia

To balance the Crown, eat foods that are pure and organic and avoid anything that is processed. Search for foods like: dates, garlic, and mushrooms.

Emotional and physical aches stem directly from imbalances in our bodies natural energy centers. Monitoring my dietary intake has allowed me to work toward aligning my body and spirit. The foods we consume carry vibrations that can activate and balance our natural energy. I've learned that a balanced diet can make for balanced chakras.