As all of us who are gluten-free know social events can be stressful, especially when it comes to eating. Everyone has that go-to food they can rely on always being safe for them to eat at parties, with chips being a common favorite. So, I pondered a question asked by gluten-free eaters everywhere: are Doritos gluten-free? Lucky for you, I decided to dig a little deeper into this gluten-free controversy.

Are Doritos Gluten-Free?

To me, the classic Doritos flavor is Nacho Cheese, closely followed by Cool Ranch. The ingredients on the Nacho Cheese Doritos don't include any wheat products. After noticing this, I went back to the Frito-Lay website and found their list of products that have been fully tested and declared gluten-free. Much to my chagrin, I didn't see Doritos on the list of gluten-free products, but they were on another list of products labeled as not containing gluten ingredients. 

Doritos aren't considered gluten-free by Frito-Lay because there's a chance of cross-contamination with wheat during the production process. This issue isn't just specific to Doritos; brands everywhere deal with potential cross-contamination.  Luckily, Frito-Lay is considerate of those who suffer from gluten allergies and Celiac disease, meaning they only declare items "gluten-free" when there's no possible chance of cross-contamination. 

Is it Safe for Me to Eat Doritos?

Well, maybe. It all depends on the severity of your allergy and if you feel comfortable enough to eat food that has a chance of  cross-contamination. Personally, I'll have to pass on Doritos. Don't get too comfortable yet! Out of 30 flavor offerings, 21 varieties are "gluten-free" (but potentially cross-contaminated), while the other 7 are not. So stay vigilant and make sure to read the list of ingredients.

#SpoonTip: When in doubt, talk to your doctor about whether or not Doritos are a safe snack for you.

What Are the "Safe" Flavors?

Doritos has an impressive list of gluten-free options. For all you classic Doritos lovers, Nacho Cheese and Cool Ranch, as well as their reduced-fat versions, are include included on the list of Doritos that are gluten-free with a chance of cross contamination. Along with these classic snack aisle mainstays are more adventurous options, such as the reduced fat Flamas and Wild White Nacho flavored Doritos. 

Love cheese? Their Spicy Nacho, Supreme Cheddar, Cheese Explosion Mix, and Organic White Cheddar flavors made the cut. However, if you're looking for even more variety, The Flamas, Jacked Ranch Hot Wings, Poppin' Jalapeño, Salsa Verde, Taco, Taco Explosion Mix, and Tapatio flavors all secured spots on this coveted list.

To finish off the top 21, both the Blaze and Blazin' Buffalo Explosion flavors and the Dinamita Chile Limòn and Fiery Habanero Rolled flavors are on the list. 

Other Chips That Are Certified Gluten-Free

Beanfields chips are certified gluten-free and have a solid variety of flavors, some of which are similar to the Doritos classics, while others are refreshingly different.

Late July, a personal favorite, seems to me like a smarter choice than Doritos with or without a gluten allergy. Almost all of their snacks are emblazoned with a certified gluten-free symbol. They have some flavors that sound quite intriguing, like Bacon Habanero and Sriracha Fresca. Another big company, Popchips, has a wide variety of enjoyable chips that range from sweet to savory.    

Although Doritos are not 100% gluten-free, there's still a wide variety of chips you can enjoy from Frito-Lay. If you're looking for a new party go-to, Cheetos are a pretty reliable option. If you have a severe sensitivity it's always important to make sure that the food you're consuming is gluten-free to make sure your body stays happy and healthy.