Thought all pizza places were ruled out for vegans? Think again! Surprisingly, vegan Domino’s is a possibility if you know what to order. You can build your own pizzas, pastas, and sandwiches on the Domino’s website and specify which toppings you want omitted on any of its dishes.

The thin crust at Domino’s is vegan, which opens up loads of cheese-free pizza possibilities. Just make sure you tell the employees that you’re vegan and therefore want a cheese-less and meatless pizza. The bread and penne pasta noodles are also vegan, meaning you have lots of sandwich and pasta options, too. Here are the best vegan Domino's menu items to keep in mind the next time you order out.

1. Pizza

To make a vegan pizza, order Domino's thin crust with a tomato-based pizza sauce or barbecue sauce as your base since the Alfredo and marinara sauces are milk-based. Every topping except meat (including anchovies) is fair game on your vegan pizza.

Try ordering the Honolulu Hawaiian pizza without bacon, ham, or cheese or get the Pacific Veggie without cheese. The best bet is to make your own pizza and load it up with toppings like banana peppers, black and green olives, garlic, green peppers, mushrooms, onions, pepperocini, pineapple, spinach, and tomatoes. You won’t even miss the cheese and pepperoni when your pizza is piled high with veggies.

2. Pasta

Ellie Haun

The penne pasta is vegan, but order it sauceless since the marinara and Alfredo sauces aren’t vegan. Be sure and ask for it in a dish since the bread bowl contains milk. For a plain but filling pasta bowl, ask for all the vegetable toppings to be mixed in.

3. Sandwiches

The artisan bread is vegan, so you can enjoy the Mediterranean Veggie sandwich. You’ll have to leave out the cheese, but you’ll still get a warm sandwich full of roasted red peppers, banana peppers, diced tomatoes, fresh baby spinach, and onions. If you order in store, you can make your own sandwich with all the veggies and either pizza sauce, barbecue sauce, or mango habanero sauce.

4. Salad

herb, spinach, lettuce, salad, vegetable
Lily Allen

Salads always come in clutch for vegans. Domino’s offers three salads, two of which can easily be made vegan. Get the Classic Garden salad without cheese or croutons for a full bowl of tomatoes, carrots, onion, and greens. You can also get the Chicken Apple Pecan salad without chicken and cheese for a fresh bowl of diced apple, dried cranberries, pecans, and greens. Italian, Catalina, and balsamic are the dressing options for both salads since ranch and Caesar dressings aren’t vegan.

5. Drinks

alcohol, juice, ice, beer, soda
Kristine Mahan

Unfortunately none of the sides at Domino's are vegan, as they all contain milk or butter. All the drinks are vegan, however. Be basic and stick with water, or have some fun with soda options such as Sprite, Root Beer, or Coke.

Now you don’t have to be sad and hungry at the next pizza-filled gathering. Just order vegan Domino's goodies and enjoy your pizza along with your friends.