"Accidentally vegan" is a beautiful thing. This term denotes any food that is vegan without explicitly trying to be or being marketed towards vegans. It sometimes takes a lot of effort to go out of your way to make some nice cream or drive to your local vegan bakery when you feel like something sweet, so I have compiled a list of vegan junk food or junk food that is "accidentally vegan", while still being totally accessible. 

This list is for times when you just want an effortless dessert to pig out on watching Netflix or something to bring to a party.  


Because milk's favourite cookie still tastes good with almond milk... 

According to Oreo's website, Oreos don't contain any animal products, but the company still warns of cross-contamination with milk products. This means there is a possibility you could be consuming very small amounts of dairy if you eat Oreos, but the ingredients list is dairy-free.  I've included Oreos on this list because it is ultimately up to the individual to decide what they are comfortable with eating!  

Dark Chocolate 

Some brands of dark chocolate are vegan, but not all, so make sure to check the ingredients. In general, try to stick to dark chocolate that is 55% or higher. My favourite is Lindt 70% dark chocolate, but the 85% and 90% are also safe. 

Breyers' Non-Dairy Ice Cream 

These babies are made with almond milk, and are much bigger and less expensive then the dairy-free Ben and Jerry's pints, which are sometimes available in grocery stores. Breyer's Non-Dairy Ice Cream comes in cookies and cream and vanilla peanut butter varieties.

Unfrosted Pop-Tarts

The unfrosted versions of the strawberry, blueberry and brown sugar Pop-Tarts are vegan.

Chocolatey Chip Teddy Grahams

I was very happy to find out that this nostalgic snack is vegan. Only the chocolatey chip flavour though!


The original and barbecue flavours are vegan. 

Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos

Just because you don't eat animal products, doesn't mean you have to miss out on Doritos. The spicy sweet chili flavour is good to go. 

Lay's Chips

The classic, barbecue and salt and vinegar flavours are totally vegan. 

Sour Patch Kids 

These can often be found in the candy isle of the grocery store. The watermelon ones are also thankfully animal product-free. 

Swedish Berries 

Surprisingly, these berries are gelatin-free, so go ahead and polish off the bag. 

Fruit by the Foot

While loaded with chemicals and sugary goodness, Fruit by the Foot doesn't contain any animal products. It is available in many grocery stores (and is very fun to eat). 

This list is by no means comprehensive, but it is a great start on learning what is available. Being vegan doesn't have to be hard, and it is still possible to enjoy a large variety of food and a treat here and there. As companies sometimes change their ingredients, I advise you to double-check the packaging on these items before you indulge!