For gluten-free foodies, finding safe foods to eat can be difficult. But what about when it comes to drinks? More specifically, let's talk gin. There are four main types of this pine-flavored liquor: Old Tom, London Dry Gin, Plymouth Gin, and Dutch Genever. Usually distilled with juniper (a plant), gin can also be distilled with cinnamon, coriander, or bitter almond. Despite all these options, is gin gluten-free? Here's what I found out: 

Is Gin Gluten-Free?

If I'm being honest, answering this question is complicated. Gin is created by distilling the typical grains that contain gluten like barley, rye, and wheat. Because gin is distilled, most of the gluten protein is removed, and people with a gluten sensitivity or those avoiding it should be fine. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, gin is safe for people in these situations. However, that doesn't always seem to be the case. 

Some people who have a gluten sensitivity notice a reaction after drinking gin, as if they ingested gluten. Not every person with a gluten sensitivity reacts to gin, so it's a case-by-case basis. If you're one of these people who had a reaction to gin, or if you want to be extra careful, there are gins made without gluten-containing grains that you can enjoy without worry.

Gluten-Free Gin Options

Yes, you read that right. There are gluten-free gin options like Cold River Gin, Hendrick's Gin, G-Vine Gin and Monopolowa Dry Gin. Instead of using gluten-containing grains, these gins are developed using potatoes, grapes, or even flowers. This distilling process guarantees that even someone with a gluten allergy can enjoy the iconic taste of gin without worrying about a negative reaction.

While gin is made using gluten-containing grains, someone with a gluten allergy should be able to drink it without any side effects. If you want to be cautious, there are gluten-free gin options. Several brands of gin are distilled using gluten-free grains, which allows those with a gluten allergy to enjoy the liquor. So, is gin gluten-free? Yes, but it's okay to take precautions.