No one ever likes to hear people talk about how they're trying out a gluten-free diet. But for people who have celiac or a sensitivity to gluten, it's super important to know exactly where it could be hiding. Obviously, gluten is in foods like bread, pasta, and pancakes. But gluten also hides in foods you wouldn't expect, like alcohol and chocolate. I know, I almost cried too. Read on to find out what foods you need to be aware of.

1. Chocolate

Ugh, WHY? Not all chocolate contains gluten, but lots of brands do. It's usually used as a thickener. Or the chocolate could also be produced in a factory that makes products that contains gluten. 

2. Sushi

sushi, burrito, avocado, lettuce, tuna
Sydney Rosenstein

Only super simple rolls like a vegetable roll are probably completely gluten-free. The little crunchy bits they add? Gluten. Imitation seafood? Gluten. Soy sauce? See #3.

3. Soy Sauce

beer, soy sauce, sauce
Sydney Rosenstein

Regular soy sauce contains wheat. Who knew? Good thing gluten-free soy sauce is super easy to find. And most sushi restaurants have it in the back.

4. Meatballs

sauce, meat, beef, meatball, spaghetti
Kirby Barth

Meatballs can be made with sauces that are not gluten-free. Also, lots of meatball recipes use breadcrumbs in the recipe, which means lots of gluten in there. 

5. Licorice

Most gummy candies actually contain gluten. This is what makes them chewy and oh so good. Make sure you check the label of your favorite gummy candies because, chances are, gluten is hiding in them. You can also check out this list for all the gluten-free candies your sweet tooth desires.

6. French Fries

cheese, chicken
Sydney Rosenstein

Just because potatoes are safe, doesn't mean French fries are. Most fries are made in oil that once contained other fried foods, like chicken, that probably had bread crumbs that were definitely made from gluten. If you don't have celiac disease, you'll probably be okay, but this is something to keep in mind. 

7. Salad Dressing

vegetable, salad, vinaigrette, salad dressing, herb
Katie Walsh

Gluten is used as a thickening agent in many salad dressings, like ranch. But if you stick to something simple, like olive oil and vinegar, you should be in the clear. Or, you could make your own dressing with one of these recipes

8. Gravy

Helena Lin

Gluten is also used to thicken gravy, which is part of what makes it so delicious. But you don't have to think about this one until next Thanksgiving. Unless you want to get creative and try some leftover recipes.

9. Gum

You know that gross white powder on gum? Well, that's probably flour. It's used to make sure the gum doesn't stick to the packaging, but it could also give you an allergic reaction. Try PÜR GUM for some gluten-free chews. 

10. Alcohol

Most beers contain gluten, which sucks if beer is your drink of choice. But many vodkas also have gluten hiding in them, so you need to be super careful so you don't end up on the bathroom floor from just one shot. Good news, though, Tito's is gluten-free! 

11. Ice Cream 

ice cream, ice, cream, chocolate, cake
Sydney Rosenstein

Don't be alarmed. It's super easy to find gluten-free ice cream. You just really have to be careful of flavors with cookies, brownies, or other mix-ins that are sure to have gluten.

12. Oatmeal

While oats are technically considered gluten-free, oftentimes they're manufactured in facilities that are not. It's always important to check the label to make sure your favorite oatmeal is certified gluten-free. 

13. Canned Soup

Many canned soups are filled with preservatives that are made from sources with gluten. The thickeners they use are also usually wheat-based. You could always make your own soup to be sure it's gluten-free and yummy because homemade is always better.

Bottom line: always check the label. Happy eating!