I decided to start eating vegan about a year and a half ago. Finding snacks as a vegan is a little tedious in the beginning, especially being the avid snacker I am. There always seemed to be certain snacks everyone had in their house growing up, one which was Doritos. Nothing beat digging into a bag of Nacho Cheese Doritos, and having that delightful, orange-red cheese on your fingers afterwards. When I first went vegan, I kept wondering, are Doritos vegan? Thankfully, a few flavors are.

Non-Vegan Flavors

Sadly for all of us chip-loving vegans, most flavors of Doritos are not vegan. They contain ingredients like cheese, milk, buttermilk, whey, and other milk-based ingredients. The non-vegan flavors include the two classics: Nacho Cheese and Cool Ranch. Other non-vegan flavors of Doritos include Taco, Salsa Verde, and Spicy Nacho, to name a few more common flavors. 

If you decide to become a vegan, you agree to give up cheese and ranch. Ranch is made up of mayo, a combination of eggs, and oil. While you can make your own vegan ranch, you cannot buy vegan ranch chips #RIP.

Vegan Flavors

Yes indeed, you read that right. A vegan flavor does exist. The Spicy Sweet Chili and Blaze flavors contain no ingredients that vegans need to stay away from. And trust me, these are definitely just as addicting at the classic flavors you know and love.

If Spicy Sweet Chili doesn't sound appealing to you, there are many other chip brands that have a few vegan options, such as Fritos, original and BBQ Lay's, original Sun Chips, and original and BBQ Pringles.

Next time you're in the grocery store, just do a quick scan over the ingredients list in order to make sure the product is vegan. If your favorite chips don't contain any animal ingredients (milk, cheese, milk products, etc.), then you can get right to snacking.