The label “gluten-free” is everywhere. But for us poor lowly college students— both the truly gluten intolerant and the fad diet followers— the problem isn’t the availability of gluten-free options, but the price. The only way around the skyrocketing prices of specialty gluten-free foods is to avoid them and just look for non-specialty GF options. And no, that does not mean leaving chips in the dust. Here is a list of common everyday snack foods that you probably munched on as a kid that do NOT contain gluten.
Note: Pay close attention to brand name and specific flavors. For example, just because Goldfish Puffs are gluten-free does not mean that flavor blasted Goldfish are gluten-free.
Watch out, only Goldfish PUFFS are gluten-free, not the other varieties.
Yes, that includes Flamin’ Hot Cheetos too.
3. Classic Lays
Classic Lays are safe but not BBQ Lays. We can’t have it all.
Fritos Scoops too!
We owe Frito Lay big time for this one.
Go ahead, be that annoying customer who asks the waiter whether the complimentary tortilla chips are Tostitos or not.
All Tootsie products are gluten-free, so feel free to start digging into that Halloween candy.
What they lack in gluten they make up for in sugar.
This one is tricky. Popcorn popped in oil without added butters or flavoring is gluten-free. However many of the added flavorings and butters contain gluten. Read the labels or stick to plain popcorn. Some gluten-free brands include:
- ACT II brand (except the Extreme Butter variety)
- Healthy Choice brand
- Jiffy Pop brand
- Jolly Time brand
- Newman’s Own brand
- Orville Redenbacher’s brand (All varieties except Ultimate Theatre Style variety)